Sorry Folks! And other such news.

I have to apologize for the long silence, I’ve been a busy Free Soul. A lot has been going on with a lot of good news and bad. I broke up with my boyfriend around Easter am moving on well. Taking applications for Free Soul Boyfriend position. Got rid of all horses because Free Soul Papa’s heart can’t handle the work and we weren’t using them. Of course all the prepping keeps us busy and we had to be watchful during Grid-Ex 2 just to be on the safe side. Thank God Grid-Ex 2 didn’t really do anything that I am aware of. I’ve also been working quite a bit of overtime and have been fairly tired as of late and had two wisdom teeth pulled. Two down, two to go. But I’m sitting here now with techno music pounding into my brain and typing away.

I have some new ideas I want to try this next year. The first is an indoor veggie garden. With all of the weird weather, the honey bees dying off in droves because of Asian hornets, GMO pollen, and pesticides, the threat of GMO cross contamination, and past bad experiences with certain wild and domestic animals (the goats we no longer have, the chickens who couldn’t be contained in a maximum security prison, and the fat tunneling rodent that ate a lot of our potatoes) trashing our poor little (poorly planned, not my fault, long story) garden. This indoor garden (under MY full control) will require a new skill I have not learned yet: hand pollination. I will try to keep ya’ll updated when I do this. All my victories and failures. A lot of prayer and hard work.

Note on the indoor garden: This would be great for many of our in-town brothers and sisters who can’t have a traditional garden outside (even though I think tomatoes look lovely next to crocuses and doesn’t garlic have such grand flowers?). I’ve heard a lot of stories were cities have banned veggie gardens in some areas and even destroyed them. However, if a room is nice and sunny, can it be sacrificed for an out of government sight, out of government mind veggie garden? Word of warning: use your sunniest room because growing lights attract unwanted attention from law enforcement looking for a marijuana bust.

The next is raising, slaughtering, and canning my own hog. Now I’ve raised them plenty of times. I can slaughter large animals, so that’s not a problem. I have not canned meat, so another new skill for me to learn. I also want to save what I can of the extra fat and guts and make my own canned pet food to store for the coming troubling times ahead. I have a 50 pound dog and two cats that I want to survive with me. OK, one cat can supplement her diet with frogs (yes, she likes frogs), but the other two can only hunt their food dishes. I am confident that this idea won’t be hard for me to do considering my background.

I also want to start canning butter and maybe cheese. I’ve heard that milk can also be canned, so if anyone has done it before or knows someone who does please send recipe. I’d like to get back into goats again someday, but I’m going to plan it better and make sure the buggers are better contained. In a year or two I’d like to get the Angora goats, as the produce not only milk and meat, but also fiber for weaving. More skills to learn. Challenge accepted.

And I want those cute feathery footed chickens soooooooooooo bad…

Leave a Reply

