Boots

Everyone here knows the importance of a good pair of boots. The type of boots doesn’t matter, as everyone has their favorite. The main thing is finding the type of boots you like that are of good quality and preferably cheap. We all know that in a long term SHTF situation that boots will become worth more than gold. Even good quality boots will wear out relatively quick with all the hard work you will have to do to survive a post collapse world, so it makes sense to stock up on boots now, right?

My favorite style of boots are the military combat boots because they are rugged, reliable, comfy, and have awesome ankle support. Most of the time I wear an old pair of hand me down jungle boots. Unfortunately, one of them flap-jacked on me. I refuse to throw them away because the treads are still great, so I duct taped the toe shut. For chores outside in the winter, I have a $30 pair of Gortex lined combat boots of good quality that I had found at a gun show. I also own a pair each of black and white mickeys. I have an undisclosed amount of boots that I will refer to as my ‘extra pair’.

I rarely buy a pair of boots at full cost. I find them cheap at gun shows, army surplus stores, and ebay. I once found a pair of size 10 combat boots in decent shape at a salvation army store. They were were super cheap and not in bad shape. The only bad part was that I’m a size 7, not a 10. I’ve gotten so cheap that I refuse to pay more than 30 bucks for good quality boots anymore because I’ve been blessed with that ‘extra pair’.

To get rid of any little nasties, spray a water and bleach solution into the inside. That should kill anything like fungi or bacteria. Don’t forget to break in you boots before storing them. If you have to run and grab a pair on the fly, you want them pre-broke. Lol, I shouldn’t have to tell anyone here to keep them oiled. In fact, boot oil and extra laces should also be on your stock up list.

As always, may God grant you all peace.

Leave a Reply

