Just A Few Home Remedies

Again, another stupid disclaimer: I am not a doctor, I do not claim to be a doctor, this is not intended to cure or heal any diseases, and this is for entertainment purposes only. Use these only at your own risk. Now to get to business 🙂

Now I am going to tell you the cool home remedies I actually use myself. Shouldn’t be that dangerous, eh? The first is peppermint and/or spearmint tea. I suffer from digestive problems, namely gas and what seems to be acid reflux. I don’t go to the doctor much, so I’m not diagnosed with any digestive ailments, but after matching symptoms I have a good clue on what’s going on. So I drink mint tea at least once a day. Tah-dah, gas gone. When drinking mint tea, I can feel the acid in my stomach settle down. We have spearmint growing semi-wild in our woods.

Bagged chamomile tea is another good remedy. The bags of this tea can be used as a poultice for for skin irritations. Just wet the bag and tape it to the affected area. Don’t forget to keep the bag moist. Another good herbal remedy for skin irritations is Jewel Weed. Its kind of a bright green plant, kind of skinny and gangly. It has small, orange, trumpet shaped flowers that turn into seed pods that spring open at your touch when they are mature. Best to look up a picture. Just pick some, crush it up, and smear it on the affected area or use as a poultice.

Mycin antibiotics are another great remedy. We get ours in the form of oral antibiotics for animals. I’ve found it under about three names: Terramycin, Agrimycin, and Duramycin. Forgive me if the spelling isn’t quite correct. We get these at local co-ops, feed stores, and Tractor Supply. This antibiotic dissolves readily in water and tastes absolutely horrible. So far as of yet, the only thing I have found that mellows the taste is coffee, and I don’t like that either. The stuff darn near lasts forever. I’ve used it for strep throat and swollen tonsils with success. Just guesstimate about how much of the powder you need, based on the weight chart and dissolve in water.  This stuff can also be made into a salve of sorts and smeared onto an infected wound. Add only enough water to make a paste, too much water makes a liquid. I did this for one of our horses and the infection was gone in, like, I think two days. The stuff is a yellow powder and is not intended for use on humans.

Cayenne pepper can be used as a blood stop. Free Soul Mama was not pleased with this remedy, even though it worked (you should have seen the look on her face!). I have also used it and believe me, it does sting a little.

I have successfully used a chickweed salve, not made by me, to slowly get rid of both toe nail fungus and an ingrown wart on my feet. Bag Balm is not only cheaper than Neosporin, it also works better. Also used as skin lotion. Comes in a green can and sold almost everywhere now a-days. Free Soul Mama uses Oil of Oregano drops to annihilate colds and congestion. I use oil of garlic in the cat food to diminish the fleas. The cats love the garlic! It doesn’t get rid of all the fleas, but it does greatly diminish the population.

I hope this helps. May God grant you all peace.

4 thoughts on “Just A Few Home Remedies

  1. Nikole says:

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but
    other than that, this is magnificent blog. A great read.
    I’ll certainly be back.

  2. Alfred says:

    My partner and I stumbled over here from a different web
    page and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.

    Look forward to looking at your web page again.

  3. PvnVUoyX says:

    785462 659502Hey there! Nice stuff, please keep me posted when you post something like this! 350669

  4. tatuaggio says:

    479228 552665Echt tolle Seite. Rubbish bin eigentlich nur per Zufall hier gelandet, aber ich bin jetzt schon complete von der tremendous Seite beeindruckt. Gratuliere dazu!! Viel Erfolg noch durch der sehr guten Home-page mein Freund. 483764

Leave a Reply

