Prepping Cheap

On a budget? Living paycheck to paycheck? I know how you feel, I’m there myself. So I can’t prepare as much as I’d absolutely love to. However, I have found ways to get many of the things that I need:

1. Learn to grow your own garden. Cheap way to put food on the table. Learn to can and dehydrate and then you can stash it for a long time. Note: buy ONLY heirloom seeds. Seeds that are not of the heirloom variety will not reproduce and give you usable seeds for the following year.

2. If you have salvage food stores in the area, utilize them. With products there at about half price give or take, its a great way to save money. Salvage food stores not only stock food, but also other household products like aluminum foil, shaving supplies, and even pet products! The only downside is that their stock constantly changes.

3. When you run out of something like your favorite deodorant or toothpaste, buy 2 or 3, use one and stash the rest. Don’t forget to keep a sharp eye out for sales.

4. Yard sales and the like. Heavy wool blanket for 5 bucks? Long candles for 10 cents a piece? An older load bearing ALICE(?) complete vest set up for another 5 bucks? Yes, I actually found that vest set up πŸ˜€ ! A rare find, I couldn’t pass it up.

5. Ebay and gun shows. I found a really good 4 piece military sleeping bag at a gun show for 75 bucks. Those usually retail for well more than a hundred. I picked up a lot of 5 Israeli gas masks that came out to about 19 bucks per mask on Ebay, all in excellent condition. Those retail for close to 100 bucks each at a lot of places. Boy did I save a bundle! I also have gotten an unbelievable amount of barely worn used combat boots dirt cheap both at gun shows and at military surplus stores.

6. Think outside the box. There are alternate ways of doing almost everything. I bought all the needed items to make a zeer (African fridge) for just over a hundred bucks. Laundry plungers aren’t that expensive and I’ve found washboards at yard sales.

7. You wouldn’t believe the amount of camo clothes I have found at second hand stores. Even military boonie hats! I shop also for sturdy jeans in earth-tone colors and get earth-tone shirts as well.

Most of my major buys have to wait until I work some overtime or get a bonus at work. I do a lot of things to save money, too, like rarely eating out. I don’t get a lot of wants and make do with what I do have. I hope this helps. If anyone has any other suggestions, please feel free to leave them in the comments. I’m always open to new suggestions πŸ™‚ May God grant you all peace.

6 thoughts on “Prepping Cheap

  1. While the prevailing set in place is notable – any shelf with items with Apple past is actually interesting.

  2. read more says:

    I really love your website.. Great colors & theme. Did you develop this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m looking to create my own site and want to know where you got this from or what the theme is called. Thanks!

  3. You ‘re so ingenious! I don’t suppose Ive read anything like this before. So awesome to find somebody with some unique opinions on this topic. I enjoy reading a post that will make people think. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!. If you have a chance check out my site Clothing Online.

  4. here says:

    Very interesting info!Perfect just what I was looking for!

  5. I blog often and I genuinely thank you for your information. This article has truly peaked my interest. I am going to take a note of your website and keep checking for new details about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed too.

Leave a Reply

