When The Disposable Paper Products Run Out

Everyone loves the convenience of paper towels and toilette paper, including yours truelly. Feminine pads, tampons and kleenex make our lives easier. How about disposable diapers? Expensive, but an integral part of our lives. However, these things do pose a problem to the prepper community. One, they take a huge space to store. Imagine trying to store five years worth of TP, papertowel, kleenex, and all that other stuff in your basement our storage room. Two, they CANNOT get wet. Three, when used, you have to find a way of getting rid of it.

Fortunately, there are ways of getting around the throw away stuff we’re accustomed to using. Instead of kleenex, buy a few hankies. I can sometimes find a bunch of them at yard sales real cheap, nice ones too! I have used hankies instead of kleenex for years and will never go back.  Instead of storing toilette paper, invest in a few soft brown washclothes. They will last for years. Cloth napkins instead of paper ones. Use a damp dish cloth instead of paper towel. This is a lot of work, but in the end very worth it: use cloth diapers instead of disposable ones. What if you have another baby post shtf? What if another woman with a small infant enters your group? Disposable diapers will not last forever, at least have a big stack of clothies as a back up. Not only are you saving money, you’re helping the enviroment as well.

Ok, girls, I know that I’ll get a few dirty looks for this, but yes, our monthly cycle needs to be addressed. Shtf is not going to stop once a month so that we can run to the store to buy tampons or pads. There are three ways that I know of to keep clean during this time. 1. Diva cups. Like a rubber tampon, only its a cup. 2. Washable pads. Expensive, which is why I use… 3… haha cloth baby diapers, folded well. Works great, just rinse after using to make washing easier. This method I have been using for years.

Hope this helps. May God grant you all peace.

6 thoughts on “When The Disposable Paper Products Run Out

  1. I so agree! I hate using paper towels, (I do need to get myself some hankies) and while I’m okay with cleaning up blood, I really don’t think I’m ready to go without toilet paper for… the other things.

    I do make my own pads, though! Have for years! 100% cotton flannel, folded into a rectangular pocket (to hold inserts) fitted with snap tabs to go around undies. I even made my friend a set and she swears she’ll never go back. http://creativemetaphor.wordpress.com/2012/08/05/practical-crafting/

  2. I reckon something truly interesting about your website so I saved to fav.

  3. I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Exceptionally well written!

  4. Leonie Gizzi says:

    The next time I read a blog, I hope that it does not disappoint me as much as this particular one. I mean, I know it was my choice to read, but I actually believed you’d have something useful to talk about. All I hear is a bunch of moaning about something you could possibly fix if you were not too busy seeking attention.

  5. Leonora Berl says:

    I seriously love your website.. Excellent colors & theme. Did you develop this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m attempting to create my very own site and want to know where you got this from or exactly what the theme is called. Thank you!

  6. After looking into a handful of the blog posts on your blog, I honestly appreciate your way of writing a blog. I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back in the near future. Please check out my website as well and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

