Imagining Yourself In A Survival Scenario

This is actually one of my favorite pasttimes. It helps me to think about every step I would have to take to either bug out, escape a city, or go rescue a friend in multiple different scenarios. I hope that this article will help out the beginning preppers still trying to figure their plans or for anyone who hadn’t thought about this before. For this purpose, I will use a more typical American lifestyle.

Imagine yourself just getting up on a cold winter morning. The first thing you realise is that the house seems much colder now than it did when you went to bed. You check your bedside clock, only to find that it stopped completely. The power is out. You check your cell phone for the time. It’s dead. Now something seems strange. It was on charge all night, right? How long has the power been out? To keep from freezing to death, you go out and try to start your generator. It doesn’t even try. Now you are suspicious. Could it be? Immediatly you head to the car and try to start it. Nothing. You are the victem of either a nuclear EMP (ElectroMagnetic Pulse) or a super strong CME (Coronal Mass Ejection, produced by the sun) has hit you directly. Now you have to think.  Do I stay or do I go elsewhere? If you decide to stay, what will you do for heat, light, security, human waste disposal, water, food, and still be able to bug out if you have to? If you decide to go elsewhere, then you have to figure out how to do all that on the move.

Now I enter myself. I’m at work when the lights go out. I check my cell. Dead. Maybe one of my flashlights will work, maybe not. Chances are good for those. I calmly clean my area like everyone else, then go out to start my car. My foreman has been trying to call the owner, but all phones are out and his cell is dead too. Soon I find that ALL cells are dead. I know right away what I’m up against. My car doesn’t start, just as I figured. Not a single car in the lot starts. I figure its a nuclear EMP, I always act like its the worse situation. I live 20 miles from home and work in a rough town. Luckily, my place of employment is right on the edge of town.

I know that I have to act fast before things get nuts. I open my trunk and get out my in-car get-go bag and some other personal artifacts. I can make it home in probably 12 hrs and not a lot of breaks if I don’t have to detour cross country if I take my preferred route. Secondary route means following the river out, only to be used in extreme situations. I could also follow the freeway, but that is not likely unless an earthquake made the other two impassible. I already dress primarily in green, black and brown, so I’ll blend into the woods real fast.

I calmly grab my gear, warn a few others, get called crazy, and go home. I also warn people not to follow me. Once home, I ask if mom made it home yet herself. If she hasn’t, I go help look for her. We are already pretty well set up at home to handle this type of situation, though we are always doing more.

May God grant you all peace.

5 thoughts on “Imagining Yourself In A Survival Scenario

  1. This is a really good tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere. Brief but very precise information… Thanks for sharing this one. A must read post!

  2. Jutta Jacek says:

    After looking over a number of the articles on your web page, I honestly like your technique of blogging. I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my website as well and tell me your opinion.

  3. Pretty! This was a really wonderful article. Thanks for supplying this information.

  4. Good post! We are linking to this great post on our site. Keep up the great writing.

  5. Very good write-up. I certainly love this site. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

