City Rabbit

This is a true story. Seriously, I’m not kidding. When Free Soul Papa was a boy, he used to hunt rabbits, dress them out, and sell them. The local farmers, however, would only buy the rabbits if he left the feet on. Why? First, I’ll give you some background. My grandfather was 42 when he married my grandmother who was 17 at the time. My dad was the youngest of 6 boys from that marraige. Well before then, in the Depression Era, my grandfather would hunt and sell ‘rabbits’ to unsuspecting city folk. A dressed out rabbit and a dressed out cat are nearly indistinguishable, especially to the untrained eye, unless you left the feet on. A lot of barn cats kind of disappeared. Of course, the locals knew what what he was really doing. So the old timers always told Free Soul Papa,”Leave the feet on, boy” City rabbit just wasn’t their cup of tea.

When things get tough, we have to be willing to eat things we wouldn’t normally eat. During hard times, my one uncle fed his family woodchuck. Just didn’t tell the kids what they were really eating. Yep, a lot of spoiled kids will either eat their veggies or face starving to death. Honestly, I don’t look forward to having to include ‘exotic meat’ in the menu either, so I hope and pray we can get better at gardening quick and keep the flock of chickens going. Speaking of chickens, we just had a hen hatch out another batch of chicks just a few days ago. It’s November, whats wrong with her!!!???

3 thoughts on “City Rabbit

  1. loneAnape says:

    Aw, this was a genuinely nice post. In concept I would like to put in writing like this in addition – taking time and actual effort to create a fairly fine article?- but what can I say?- I procrastinate alot and by no indicates seem to obtain some thing completed.

    Throwback NFL Jerseys

  2. An impressive share, I just given this onto a colleague who was doing a little analysis on this. And he in fact bought me breakfast because I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the treat! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to discuss this, I feel strongly about it and love reading more on this topic. If possible, as you become expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more details? It is highly helpful for me. Big thumb up for this blog post!

    Wholesale NFL Jerseys

    jordans outlet

Leave a Reply

