Post Collapse Laundry Day

There are four good ways that I know about to get your clothes good and clean after the world as we know it ends. The first two I have actually done. The third one Free Soul Boyfriend has done. The fourth was widely used in the old times. I don’t know about you, but nuclear holocaust or not, I want clean underwear every day. Yeast infections are not fun.

The first method I will talk about is the good old Maytag ringer washer. We use ours here all throughout the summer. It is currently run by a gas Honda engine. However, a 12 volt motor can be used instead if you have the ability or plan to have the ability to generate enough juice for it. The old Maytag does a great job and we just use cold well water to wash in. We let it sloosh the clothes around for about twenty minutes or so in the wash water and the clothes always come out clean. A word of caution, though, when operating the ringer watch your fingers. I have not had my fingers pinched by the ringer before, but from what I heard it does not feel good. Also, ladies with ample busts should also be careful as I have also heard of a woman on Free Soul Papa’s side of the family getting a tah tah caught in the ringer too.

The second method is the laundry plunger. It looks like a big funny looking toilette plunger. I used mine not too long ago to try it out and it works great! The only problem I found was my hankies not coming all the way clean. I will try presoaking those next time. What I did was take two 5 gallon plastic buckets, one for washing and one for rinsing. Loads are small: a handfull of socks, 2-3 t-shirts, or one pair of jeans. After about a minute or two of working the plunger in an up-down motion like you would an old time butter churn the clothes are good and clean. For really dirty clothes, give it an extra minute and reinspect to see if its clean yet.

Method three is the wash board. I have two that I bought at a yard sale. These work by rubbing the clothes on the ribs of the wash board. Free Soul Boyfriend says they work great, so I’m taking his word for it.

Last, but not least, is the art of boiling your clothes clean. Back in the day, the woman of the house put the dirty clothes into a big pot or kettle and boiled them all clean. I don’t think this method uses soap, but I’m not sure.

It would be wise to have more than one method available just in case the primary one fails. I hope this helps. As always, may God grant you all peace.

3 thoughts on “Post Collapse Laundry Day

  1. Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article! It’s the little changes that produce the most significant changes. Thanks for sharing!

  2. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I do believe that you should publish more on this subject, it might not be a taboo matter but typically folks don’t speak about such topics. To the next! Kind regards!!

  3. This is the right blog for everyone who hopes to find out about this topic. You understand so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really will need to…HaHa). You definitely put a fresh spin on a topic that’s been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!

Leave a Reply

