Salvage Stores

Well, my brother is still in New Jersey cleaning up after Sandy. So far he’s ok and safe. NYC Mayor Bloomburg did cancel the marathon after receiving severe backlash, which made my day over the weekend. Everything’s been ok here at the homestead.

Today I want to talk about salvage food stores. These awesome little stores dot the country side out here and one is supposed to open within walking distance of me come spring. Inside these fascinating places could be anything from canned goods to wireless mouses! When goods get dented, lightly damaged, or somehow made undesirable to normal grocery stores, these rejected products are bought by salvage stores and sold as is. 99% of what I have bought in these stores has been perfectly fine. Merchandise usually ranges at about half the price than in regular stores, sometimes less. Nice big bags of Snickers snack size bars $1.79. Brand name cereal $1.50-$2.00. Progresso soups $0.99 often buy one get one free. Cans of veggies 3 or 4 for a dollar. Get the picture?

As long as the damage is only cosmetic, the food inside is still perfectly good. The stock of these stores has a tendancy to change constantly, but the usual staples are: canned veggies, baked beans, tooth paste, salad dressings, mayonaise, bottled water, chocolate candies, cereal, hot sauce, olive oil, coffee, chapstick, gatorade, cake and brownie mixes, tea, rice, canned fruit, cookies, bars of soap, diapers, cold and flu medicines, laxitives, cleaning supplies, and assorted batteries. Occasionally I find graham crackers and canned eggnog.

I find salvage shopping to be a fun experience as I never know just what I’ll find. Today I came across a good deal on some shavers, something I don’t always run across. I also found bags of beef jerkey for $0.99! Of course, its always best to take a few precautions and double check seals and expiration dates. I do accidently get things that are NOT good every once in a while. For the frugal shopper, the salvage store is a great place to be.

10 thoughts on “Salvage Stores

  1. Zombease says:

    Fantastic suggestion, especially for the budget conscience.

  2. I came here thinking something else, but this inspired me regardless. Inspiring stuff!

  3. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thanks, However I am having issues with your RSS. I don’t know why I can’t join it. Is there anybody having similar RSS problems? Anybody who knows the solution will you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  4. Hi there, There’s no doubt that your blog could possibly be having browser compatibility issues. Whenever I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Besides that, great blog!

  5. Your style is really unique compared to other people I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this blog.

  6. Bonita Comee says:

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after looking at a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m certainly pleased I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

  7. After looking into a number of the articles on your site, I truly like your technique of blogging. I saved it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back in the near future. Take a look at my web site as well and tell me your opinion.

  8. Good day! I simply wish to offer you a big thumbs up for your excellent info you’ve got here on this post. I’ll be coming back to your website for more soon.

Leave a Reply

