Hurricane Sandy still giving us rain but at least the wind is gone. I work on the east side of Ashtabula and last night our lights were flickering. I heard that in the west side of Ashtabula the grid went down. Last I heard, the grid was down in Jefferson too. Here at home we did well. Only one tree down that we know about. I’ve been listening to the horror stories from the east coast where the storm really hit and honestly, I’m kind of disappointed with the American people. Even with plenty of warning, many did not prepare properly, nor did many evacuate the obvious flood zones. I shook my head with each picture I saw of people trying to drive through high rushing water or walk through flooded roads in serious winds. My brother works for Asplundh, a tree service company, and he was sent to New Jersey. The roof of the hotel where he was staying blew partly off! For all our east coast prepper friends, thank God for you all and that you had the common sence to plan ahead! God bless you!

This country has been through countless hurricanes and it seems that we’ve learned nothing. Now that Sandy is moving on and the power is still out all over the east, the clean up must begin and all of those who did not prepare will be begging for government assistance or complaining about the disruption to their lives.  I would hope that they would learn from this. For those living in any kind of flood zone, here is my advice:

1. Always have at least a week’s worth of food and water.

2.Do not store your preps in the basement or the first floor. If you experience a flood, your preps will be underwater.

3. Keep a go-bag ready at all times. That way, if you have to bug out, just grab it and go. Also keep important papers and stuff within easy reach for faster packing.

4. If you need to evacuate, get out early! You don’t want to be on the road when everyone else decides to get out too. The highways could turn into giant parking lots.

5. Always have a plan. Do you have somewhere to go? How will you get there? Do you have alternate routes? If you stay and the power goes out, do you have alternate ways of heating food, communication, staying warm, lighting, and staying clean? Can you do those things if you’re stranded on the second floor because the first one’s full of water?

Planning ahead is one of the best things you can do. To all of you on the east coast who were prepared for the storm, you are your own hero! I talked to Free Soul Boyfriend last night and his parents were afraid that the power would go out. People tend to forget that electricity wasn’t always available. The folks on the Mayflower didn’t have any and neither did George Washington. An emergency is only an emergency if you aren’t prepared beforehand (unless you’re losing a lot of blood lol).

Please pray for everyone affected by the storm as they set about cleaning up the aftermath. Special prayers for my brother as he works cleaning the trees off the power lines. May God grant you peace.

2 thoughts on “

  1. After looking into a number of the articles on your web page, I honestly appreciate your technique of writing a blog. I book marked it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back in the near future. Take a look at my website as well and tell me how you feel.

  2. Good info. Lucky me I ran across your website by accident (stumbleupon). I’ve saved it for later!

Leave a Reply

